The Jamestown Philomenian Library
The Jamestown Philomenian Library originated in 1828 with the organization of The Philomenian Debating Society whose members agreed to pay one dollar a year toward a fund to start a library. That library and another lending library on Conanicut Island were combined in November 1874 to create the Jamestown Philomenian Library. The Library moved from private homes, first to the back of the town hall, and then to an empty school. In 1971, a building to house the Library was constructed on the present site. In l993, a $1.4 million addition was erected to house our collection and included the addition of a Children’s Room and auditorium which seats 125 people. The auditorium was used as the Town Council Chambers for many years.
The Library has grown with the community into a much-loved institution of lifelong learning, a meeting space, and a Public Square. It anchors a vibrant section of the village along with the newly revitalized playground, the Jamestown Art Center, the Village Hearth Bakery, the Post Office, McQuade’s grocery store, Town Hall, and Lawn and Melrose Schools. The anticipated installation of a sidewalk along this section of North Road will likely increase the pedestrian traffic and use. The Library and its corner are a hub of activity in Jamestown.