The Jamestown Philomenian Library originated in 1828 with the organization of The Philomenian Debating Society. That library and another lending library on Conanicut Island were combined in November 1874 to create the Jamestown Philomenian Library.
The renovation that is planned for the Library will include a total redesign of the interior. The project will create more space for areas including the Adult’s Room, Children’s Room, and staff area. This additional space will allow for an improved patron experience.